Loading.. Loading...

Disaster Management Centre

Vidya Mawatha, Colombo 7 (Cinnamon Gardens), Sri Lanka.


Email : Send an inquiry

Tel : +94-11-213-6136

Fax : +94-11-267-0079

Web : View web

In July 2005, the Sri Lanka Disaster Management Act No.13 of 2005 was enacted which provides the legal basis for instituting a disaster risk management system in the country. The National Council for Disaster Management (NCDM), is a high-level inter-ministerial body. The chairman and vice chairman of the NCDM are H.E. the President and Hon Prime Minister respectively. Other members are Leader of the Opposition, Ministers in charge of 20 selected subject areas, Provincial Council Chief Ministers and five members of the Opposition. The Act also provides for establishing the Disaster Management Centre (DMC) under the Council to be the apex body for the purpose of planning, co-coordinating and implementing of certain natural and other forms of disasters